#COMICSPRO: ONI PRESS ANNOUNCES A NEW COMIC SERIES FROM CHRIS SAMNEE

 Chris Samnee, a creative force behind celebrated runs on Marvel’s Daredevil, Black Widow, Thor The Mighty Avenger and more, and whose previous work with Oni includes the critically acclaimed graphic novel Capote in Kansas, teams with co-writer Laura Samnee and colorist Matthew Wilson for an ongoing middle reader adventure series, Jonna and the Unpossible Monsters in June.

“Reading books like Mike Maihack’s Cleopatra in Space, Judd Winnick’s Hilo series and Jeff Smith’s Bone with our kids really lit the fire under me to get started making something of my own” says co-creator, Chris Samnee. “I’ve always had the urge to do something creator owned, but seeing how much the kids were enjoying these comics made me want to make something I could share with them.” 

Exploring the drive and boundaries of rebuilding a family after disaster strikes, Jonna and the Unpossible Monsters follows a tag-team of brawn and brains as two sisters, Rainbow and Jonna, strike out into the unknown on a hunt for their missing father, who was taken a year before. 

Battling treacherous territory as the planet around them mysteriously dries up, Rainbow and Jonna will have to combat monsters as they struggle to rediscover their trust and sisterly bond after a year of separation, they struggle to find people in this new world they can trust to help them along the way.

Perfect for fans of Jeff Smith’s classic graphic novel series, Bone, Oni Press publisher James Lucas Jones says “Chris and Laura have long been friends of Oni, and we are thrilled to have them work with us on a series that will delight readers both young and old. With Chris’s years of acclaim drawing legendary comic book characters, Jonna and the Unpossible Monsters is a unique opportunity for comic shops and fans to embark on a fantastic journey with the Samnees telling a story in a way they never have before.”

Chris Samnee continues “Ultimately we wanted to create a book that we could read with our children but something that would appeal to adults as well– and give me a chance to draw some monsters! Oni and James Lucas Jones were the first company to really take a chance on me by giving me my first real printed comics work— and it felt like a natural choice to come back to Oni with my first creator owned work.” 

Jonna and the Unpossible Monsters is an ongoing series for ages 8 years and above, available in comic shops everywhere in June, solicited through Diamond’s April-dated PREVIEWS catalog. 

About the Creators:

Chris Samnee is an Eisner and Harvey award-winning cartoonist. He’s best known for his work on Daredevil, Black Widow, and Thor: The Mighty Avenger. He lives in St. Louis, Missouri with his wife, Laura, and their three daughters.

Laura Samnee is a co-writer of JONNA AND THE UNPOSSIBLE MONSTERS. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri with her husband, Chris, and their three daughters. 

Matt Wilson has been coloring comics since 2003, getting his start coloring for the comics coloring studio Zylonol Studios. After a few years in the studio Matt branched out on his own to color titles like: Phonogram, Young Avengers, Thor, Daredevil, Wonder Woman, Swamp Thing, The Wicked + The Divine, and Paper Girls. In 2015 Matt’s work earned him Eisner Award and Harvey Award nominations.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: