2017 IDA Documentary Awards Winners

The 33rd annual IDA Documentary Awards were hosted Maz Jobrani at Los Angeles’ Paramount Theatre. And the winners are:


Best Feature

Directors/Producers: Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles
The Orchard

Best Short

Director: Laura Checkoway
Producer: Thomas Lee Wright
Kartemquin Films

Creative Recognition Award Winners

Best Cinematography
Cinematography by: Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva
Kino Lorber

Best Editing

Dawson City: Frozen Time
Edited by: Bill Morrison
Kino Lorber

Best Music

Brimstone & Glory
Original Score by: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin
Oscilloscope Laboratories

Best Writing

Written by: Chico Pereira, Manuel Pereira and Gabriel Molera
Scottish Documentary Institute

Pare Lorentz Award

Watani: My Homeland (Recipient)
Director: Marcel Mettelsiefen

Intent to Destroy (Special Mention)
Director: Joe Berlinger

ABC News VideoSource Award

LA 92 
Directors: Dan Lindsay & TJ Martin
National Geographic

Best Curated Series Award

Independent Lens
Executive Producers: Lois Vossen and Sally Jo Fifer

Best Limited Series

The Defiant Ones
Executive Producers: Allen Hughes, Doug Pray, Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Laura Lancaster, Jerry Longarzo, Michael Lombardo, and Gene Kirkwood

Best Episodic Series Award

Planet Earth II
Executive Producer: Michael Gunton

Best Short Form Series Award

The New York Times Op-Docs 
Executive Producer: Kathleen Lingo
The New York Times

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

Man on Fire
Director: Joel Fendelman
Producer: James Chase Sanchez
University of Texas, Austin


movies television

TaylorNetwork View All →

Home of a family of podcasts such covering everything from comics to tv/movies, popculture, science fiction and more

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: