2017 IDA Award Nominees

The 33rd annual IDA Awards will take place on Saturday, Dec. 9 at Los Angeles’ Paramount Theatre.

And the nominees are:

Pare Lorentz Award

Watani: My Homeland
Director: Marcel Mettelsiefen

Intent to Destroy
(Special Mention)
Director: Joe Berlinger

ABC News VideoSource Award

Blood On The Mountain
Directors: Mari-Lynn Evans and Jordan Freeman
Virgil Films/Netflix

Directors: Tim Golden and Ross McDonnell
Gravitas Ventures, CNN Films


Director: Bryan Fogel

LA 92
Directors: Dan Lindsay & TJ Martin
National Geographic

Director: Vanessa Gould
Kino Lorber

Best Curated Series

American Experience
Executive Producer: Mark Samels

Executive Producer: Anders Bruus

Independent Lens
Executive Producers: Lois Vossen and Sally Jo Fifer


Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White


Executive Producers: Rachel Raney and Amy Shumaker
UNC-TV, South Carolina ETV, NETA and WORLD

Best Limited Series

Daughters of Destiny
Executive Producer: Vanessa Roth

The Defiant Ones
Executive Producers: Allen Hughes, Doug Pray, Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Laura Lancaster, Michael Lombardo, Gene Kirkwood, and Jerry Longarzo

The Keepers
Executive Producers: Ryan White and Jessica Hargrave

The Vietnam War
Executive Producer: Ken Burns

TIME: The Kalief Browder Story
Executive Producers: Jenner Furst, Nick Sandow, Julia Willoughby Nason, Michael Gasparro, Shawn “JAY Z” Carter, Sharon Levy, Chachi Senior

Best Episodic Series

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown
Executive Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia and Sandra Zweig

Chef’s Table

Executive Producers: David Gelb, Matthew Weaver, Brian McGinn, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard and Matthew Hilliard

Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath
Executive Producers: Leah Remini, Aaron Saidman, Alex Weresow, Devon-Graham-Hammonds, Elaine Frontain Bryant and Amy Savitsky

Executive Producers: Ron Howard, Brian Grazer, Michael Rosenberg, Dave O’Connor, Jon Kamen, Tommy Turtle, David Sirulnick, Jonathan Silberberg, Lorenzo Mieli, Everardo Gout, Justin Wilkes, Tim Pastore, Matt Renner, Robert Palumbo, and David Sirulneck
National Geographic

Planet Earth II

Executive Producer: Michael Gunton

Best Short Form Series

Field of Vision

Executive Producers: Laura Poitras, AJ Schnack and Charlotte Cook
Field of Vision

Shorts on Time

Executive Producer: Julie Parker Benello

The Guardian documentaries

Executive Producers: Charlie Phillips and Lindsay Poulton
The Guardian

The New York Times Op-Docs

Executive Producer: Kathleen Lingo
The New York Times

The Secret Life of Muslims

Executive Producers: Joshua Seftel and Reza Aslan

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

Director: Ray Whitehouse
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Director: Maayan Arad
 of National Film and Television School (United Kingdom)

How To Make A Pearl

Director: Jason Hanasik
 of UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

Man on Fire

Director: Joel Fendelman
University of Texas, Austin

Room 140
Director: Priscilla Gonzalez Sainz
 oof Stanford University

Best Feature

City of Ghosts
Director/Producer: Matthew Heineman
Amazon Studios

Directors/Producers: Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles

The Orchard

Faces Places
Directors: Agnès Varda and JR
Cohen Media Group

LA 92
Directors: Dan Lindsay & TJ Martin
Producers: Jonathan Chinn, Simon Chinn, Tim Pastore, Matt Renner and Sarah Gibson
National Geographic

Strong Island
Director/Producer: Yance Ford
Producer Joslyn Barnes

Best Short

Director: Laura Checkoway
Producer: Thomas Lee Wright
Kartemquin Films

The Fight
Directors/Producers: Violeta Ayala and Dan Fallshaw
The Guardian

Heaven Is A Traffic Jam On The 405
Director/Producer: Frank Stiefel

Long Shot
Director: Jacob LaMendola
Producers: Jacob LaMendola, Mary Beth Minthorn, Milos S. Silber and Todd Wiseman Jr.

Mr. Connolly Has ALS
Director/Producer: Dan Habib
Impact Media Partners

The Rabbit Hunt Director: Patrick Bresnan
Producer: Ivete Lucas
Topic Studios

Creative Recognition Award Winners

Best Cinematography
Cinematography by: Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva
Kino LorberBest Editing
Dawson City: Frozen Time
Edited by: Bill Morrison
Kino Lorber

Best Music
Brimstone and Glory
Original Score by: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin
Oscilloscope Laboratories

Best Writing
Written by: Chico Pereira, Manuel Pereira and Gabriel Molera
Scottish Documentary Institute

Categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: