2017 Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids’ Comics Shortlist


The shortlist for the third annual Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids’ Comics has been announced by the folks from Ann Arbor Comic Art Festival. The award was named in honor of the influential comics/animation writer and co-creator of Static Shock who passed away in 2011.


Here’s the 2017 shortlist, composed of comic books published in 2016:

  • Bad Machinery Volume 6: The Case of the Unwelcome Visitor, by John Allison
  • Blip! by Barnaby Richards
  • The Cloud, by K.I. Zachopoulos and Vincenzo Bolzano
  • The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo, by Drew Weing
  • Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier
  • Goldie Vance, by Hope Larson, Britney Williams and Sarah Stern
  • Hilda and the Stone Forest, by Luke Pearson
  • Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Vol. 1: BFF, by Amy Reeder and Brandon Montclair
  • Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! Vol. 1: Hooked On A Feline, by Kate Leth, Brittney Williams and Natasha Allegri
  • Princess Princess Ever After, by Katie O’Neill.

If you’re looking for recommendations for great contemporary comics for kids, this shortlist seems like a pretty good start.

The winner will be announced on Saturday, June 17, at the opening of the Ann Arbor Comic Arts Festival, a free two-day event held at the Ann Arbor District Library in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Categories: comics

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: