Review: Star Wars Shattered Empire


Written by: Rene Alvarado

You can follow him on Facebook HERE.


Marvel Comics has been publishing some amazing stories and comic books this year, and their Star Wars comic book series have been no exception. Having taken over from Dark Horse Comics this year, all of Marvel’s stories have been stellar stories. Every issue of every comic that Marvel does is now part of the official Star Wars story and timeline. That makes a huge difference now in terms of what these comic books mean to Star Wars fans, both for the old readers of the Dark Horse stuff and for new readers of the Marvel comics. Shattered Empire is another great example of this new age of Star Wars.

Shattered Empire takes place immediately after the events of Return Of The Jedi and the Rebel Alliance’s victory at the Battle Of Endor. While the Rebels celebrate their destruction of the second Death Star and the deaths of Vader and the Emperor, their war is not yet over. It might never end.

Written by Greg Rucka with gorgeous art by Marco Checcheto, the story follows two characters whose child will play a prominent role in Star Wars: The Force Awakens. We follow Poe Dameron’s parents as they go on missions for the Rebellion in the aftermath of Endor. As we do, we are given a glimpse into what leads into what we’ll all be seeing when we finally see The Force Awakens. The story is a fun romp through the edges of the Star Wars Universe and each issue in the series has Shara Bey and Kes Dameron interacting with and fighting besides Han, Leia and Luke. The final issue leaves the reader with a lot of questions which will be eventually be answered in Episode 7.


I loved this series. It started a little slow for me until I released I was reading about Poe’s parents and the Journey To The Force Awakens part of the title wasn’t just a gimmick. This story does a lot to help bridge the story gap between Return Of The Jedi and The Force Awakens. And, it’s a great story. The art is spectacular and super detailed. The last issue of the series focuses on Luke Skywalker and Shara and a few of the pages are just stunning. The writing moves the story forward well and Rucka gets the characters right. There aren’t that many surprises here until the last issue and when you finish the story, you’re going to want more. A lot more.

Shattered Empire was a four issue miniseries and the trade will be released on November 17, 2015. Pick it up.

5/5 Lightsabers for this one. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: