2015 DGA Awards

The winners of the 67th Annual DGA Awards are:

DGA Awards Medallion SmallOutstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film


Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

(Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Managers: James W. Skotchdopole, Robert Graf
  • First Assistant Director: Peter Kohn
  • Second Assistant Directors: Amy Lauritsen, Tim Price
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Catherine Feeny
  • Assistant Unit Production Manager: Gabrielle Mahon
  • Location Manager: Joaquin Prange

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series

LESLI LINKA GLATTER- Homeland, “From A to B and Back Again”


 Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Managers: Angela Phillips, Michael Klick
  • First Assistant Director: Nick Heckstall Smith
  • Second Assistant Director: Wendy Bledsoe

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series

JILL SOLOWAY – Transparent, “Best New Girl”

(Amazon Prime)

Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Manager: Victor Hsu
  • First Assistant Director: Bill Purple
  • Second Assistant Director: Allan Monteiro Fortes
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Anna Vogt

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Mini-Series

LISA CHOLODENKO – Olive Kitteridge


 Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Manager: David Coatsworth
  • First Assistant Director: Jesse Nye
  • Second Assistant Director: Mark Constance
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Elizabeth MacSwan

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

DAVE DIOMEDI – The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, 
“Episode #1”


Directorial Team:

  • Associate Directors: Maureen Smith, Mark Jankeloff
  • Stage Managers: Nicka Tolmasoff, Mike Kilkenny

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials

GLENN WEISS – The 68th Annual Tony Awards


Directorial Team:

  • Associate Directors: Ken Diego, Robin Abrams, Stefani Cohen, Ricky Kirshner
  • Stage Managers: Garry Hood, Phyllis Digilio‑Kent, Peter Epstein, Andrew Feigin, Lynn Finkel, Doug Fogel, Jeffry Gitter, Arthur Lewis, Jeffrey M. Markowitz, Joey Meade, Seth Mellman, Cyndi Owgang, Jeff Pearl, Annette Powlis, Elise Reaves, Lauren Class Schneider

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs

ANTHONY B. SACCO – The Chair, “The Test”


Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Children’s Programs

JONATHAN JUDGE – 100 Things To Do Before High School, “Pilot”


Directorial Team:

  • Unit Production Manager: Debra Spidell
  • First Assistant Director: Julian Petrillo
  • Second Assistant Director: Katey Wheelhouse
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Ceci Mak

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials

Sapeurs, Guinness AMV BBDO

  • First Assistant Director: Bob Wilkins

Waiting, FEMADeutsch NY

  • First Assistant Director: Bob Wagner
  • Second Assistant Director: Rafa Sanz

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary

LAURA POITRAS – Citizenfour

Praxis Films
Participant Media
HBO Documentary Films
Bertha Foundation | BRITDOC Circle | Channel 4
Norddeutscher Rundfunk NDR
Bayerischer Rundfunk BR
Deutscher Filmförderfonds

Lifetime Achievement & Service Award Recipients

James Jim Burrows

Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Achievement in Television Direction

Robert Bob Butler

Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Achievement in Television Direction

James Burrows and Robert Butler were honored with the DGA’s first-ever Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Achievement in Television Direction, in honor of each director’s groundbreaking career. The new award, created by the DGA’s National Board of Directors last year, joins the Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Achievement in Motion Picture Direction in being the two highest creative honors bestowed by the DGA. The recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award in Television Direction are nominated by a blue ribbon committee of prominent television directors and approved by the present and past presidents of the Guild.


Frank Capra Achievement Award

Given to an Assistant Director or Unit Production Manager in recognition of career achievement in the industry and service to the Directors Guild of America.


Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award

Given to an Associate Director or Stage Manager in recognition of career achievement in the industry and service to the Directors Guild of America.

First-time Feature Film Director Award Announced

In a surprise announcement, Steven Spielberg took the stage tonight to announce a brand new DGA Award – the First-Time Feature Film Director Award, which will recognize the outstanding directorial achievement of a first-time feature film director. The new award, which was approved by the DGA’s National Board in October of last year, will be bestowed for the first time at the 68th Annual DGA Awards in 2016.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: